All models

Used Tesla Model Y: battery health, range and replacement cost

Battery wear, range, winter loss, replacement cost and warranty, with a source for every figure. Data checked 2026-10-17.

Check a listing with the deal checker

Things to check

In the US

Long Range AWD

Model years 2022

Battery type
NCAestimateRecurrent (Tesla Model Y guide) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent (Tesla Model Y guide)

Quote: while Long Range and Performance use NCA (charge to 80-90% daily)

How we got this: Source states this chemistry in general terms for the model/trim; not specific to this market, year or factory.

Usable battery
75 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Tesla Model Y Long Range Dual Motor (2022); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=3012e28f-2dc0-4b2b-9bab-2fe03279b082 usable_battery_size=75

Official range (EPA, new)
330 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 45018: 2022 Tesla Model Y Long Range AWD

Record: id=45018 range=330

Efficiency (EPA combined)
27.6 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 45018: 2022 Tesla Model Y Long Range AWD

Record: id=45018 combE=27.6273

Battery wear
1.5% a yearestimatemeasures range loss, not battery capacityGreenCars (18 Jun 2024) reporting Recurrent study; 6% over 1,500 days = ~1.5%/yr · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y, Recurrent fleet (all variants pooled) — range loss, not measured battery capacity

Quote: and the Model Y lost about 6 percent of its range compared to new

How we got this: Recurrent (via GreenCars): ~6% range loss after 1,500 days, annualised linearly to ~1.5%/yr. The source notes loss is non-linear.

Expected range kept
93% after 5 years, 85% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 305 mi and 281 mi of EPA rangeGreenCars (18 Jun 2024) reporting Recurrent study; 6% over 1,500 days = ~1.5%/yr · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y, Recurrent fleet (all variants pooled) — range loss, not measured battery capacity

Quote: and the Model Y lost about 6 percent of its range compared to new

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 1.5% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
21% lessestimate32°F (0°C) vs ideal-temperature range, compared with the range at an ideal temperatureRecurrent (Model Y guide; range at 32F vs ideal-temperature range, not vs EPA rating) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y, Recurrent fleet (all variants pooled)

Quote: Winter Range (32°F) 79%

How we got this: Recurrent reports 79% of range retained at 32°F; loss = 100 − 79 = 21%.

Battery replacement cost
$15,000estimatescaled from a similar battery; labour included: unknown; 2021 priceRecurrent (extrapolated from a Model 3 invoice; no Model Y invoice found; quote year not printed) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent extrapolation for Model Y from a Model 3 invoice (not a Model Y quote)

Quote: That puts the Model Y replacement cost at about $15,000.

How we got this: Recurrent extrapolates ~$15,000 for Model Y from a Model 3 remanufactured-pack invoice; no Model Y invoice found.

Battery warranty
8 years or 120,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerTesla 2019 Form 10-K (copy checked at www.sec.gov; original https://ir.tesla.com/_flysystem/s3/sec/000156459020004475/tsla-10k_20191231.html) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

US Model Y Long Range battery warranty.

Quote: For the battery and drive unit on our current new Model 3 and Model Y vehicles, we offer an eight year or 100,000 mile limited warranty for our Standard or Standard Range Plus battery and an eight year or 120,000 mile limited warranty for our Long Range or Performance battery, with minimum 70% retention of battery capacity over the warranty period.

How we got this: The official Tesla filing predates MY2022 but describes the same Model Y Long Range warranty subsequently used for that model year.

RWD

Model years 2024

Battery type
LFPestimateRecurrent (Tesla Model Y guide) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent (Tesla Model Y guide)

Quote: Standard Range Model Y variants generally use LFP battery chemistry (chargeable to 100% daily)

How we got this: Source states this chemistry in general terms for the model/trim; not specific to this market, year or factory.

Usable battery
57.5 kWhestimateOpen EV Data (https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data Tesla Model Y 2022 entry (not the 2024 US RWD)

How we got this: Open EV Data has no 2024 Model Y RWD entry; its 2022 Model Y (id 5933d23f) usable 57.5 kWh is used. Pack may differ.

Official range (EPA, new)
260 midata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 48476: 2024 Tesla Model Y RWD

Record: id=48476 range=260

Efficiency (EPA combined)
28 kWh per 100 milesdata setEPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov vehicles.csv (retrieved 2026-10-17, sha256 b1ff0e3071c4) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

EPA record 48476: 2024 Tesla Model Y RWD

Record: id=48476 combE=28.0056

Battery wear
1.5% a yearestimatemeasures range loss, not battery capacityGreenCars (18 Jun 2024) reporting Recurrent study; 6% over 1,500 days = ~1.5%/yr · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y, Recurrent fleet (all variants pooled) — range loss, not measured battery capacity

Quote: and the Model Y lost about 6 percent of its range compared to new

How we got this: Recurrent (via GreenCars): ~6% range loss after 1,500 days, annualised linearly to ~1.5%/yr. The source notes loss is non-linear.

Expected range kept
93% after 5 years, 85% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 241 mi and 221 mi of EPA rangeGreenCars (18 Jun 2024) reporting Recurrent study; 6% over 1,500 days = ~1.5%/yr · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y, Recurrent fleet (all variants pooled) — range loss, not measured battery capacity

Quote: and the Model Y lost about 6 percent of its range compared to new

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 1.5% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
21% lessestimate32°F (0°C) vs ideal-temperature range, compared with the range at an ideal temperatureRecurrent (Model Y guide; range at 32F vs ideal-temperature range, not vs EPA rating) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y, Recurrent fleet (all variants pooled)

Quote: Winter Range (32°F) 79%

How we got this: Recurrent reports 79% of range retained at 32°F; loss = 100 − 79 = 21%.

Battery replacement cost
$15,000estimatescaled from a similar battery; labour included: unknown; 2021 priceRecurrent (extrapolated from a Model 3 invoice; no Model Y invoice found; quote year not printed) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent extrapolation for Model Y from a Model 3 invoice (not a Model Y quote)

Quote: That puts the Model Y replacement cost at about $15,000.

How we got this: Recurrent extrapolates ~$15,000 for Model Y from a Model 3 remanufactured-pack invoice; no Model Y invoice found.

Battery warranty
No sourced warranty yetthe deal checker counts this as not covered

In the UK

Long Range AWD

Model years 2022

Battery type
NCAestimateRecurrent (Tesla Model Y guide) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent (Tesla Model Y guide)

Quote: while Long Range and Performance use NCA (charge to 80-90% daily)

How we got this: Source states this chemistry in general terms for the model/trim; not specific to this market, year or factory.

Usable battery
75 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Tesla Model Y Long Range Dual Motor (2022); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=3012e28f-2dc0-4b2b-9bab-2fe03279b082 usable_battery_size=75

Official range (WLTP, new)
331 miestimateElectrifying.com (22 Sep 2022); 331 mi is the lower of two figures quoted (351 likely on 19-inch wheels) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Electrifying.com (22 Sep 2022); 331 mi is the lower of two figures quoted (351 likely on 19-inch wheels)

Quote: That compares to 351 and 331 for the All-Wheel-Drive Long Range version.

How we got this: Source gives two UK figures for the 2022 Long Range (351 and 331 mi, wheel-size dependent); the lower is used.

Battery wear
1.5% a yearestimatemeasures range loss, not battery capacityGreenCars (18 Jun 2024) reporting Recurrent study; 6% over 1,500 days = ~1.5%/yr · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y, Recurrent fleet (all variants pooled) — range loss, not measured battery capacity

Quote: and the Model Y lost about 6 percent of its range compared to new

How we got this: Recurrent (via GreenCars): ~6% range loss after 1,500 days, annualised linearly to ~1.5%/yr. The source notes loss is non-linear.

Expected range kept
93% after 5 years, 85% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 306 mi and 281 mi of WLTP rangeGreenCars (18 Jun 2024) reporting Recurrent study; 6% over 1,500 days = ~1.5%/yr · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y, Recurrent fleet (all variants pooled) — range loss, not measured battery capacity

Quote: and the Model Y lost about 6 percent of its range compared to new

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 1.5% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
21% lessestimate32°F (0°C) vs ideal-temperature range, compared with the range at an ideal temperatureRecurrent (Model Y guide; range at 32F vs ideal-temperature range, not vs EPA rating) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y, Recurrent fleet (all variants pooled)

Quote: Winter Range (32°F) 79%

How we got this: Recurrent reports 79% of range retained at 32°F; loss = 100 − 79 = 21%.

Battery replacement cost
£12,000estimategarage guide; labour included: unknown; 2026 priceBumper UK garage-network guide (01 Oct 2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y £9,000–£15,000 (Bumper UK garage guide)

How we got this: Midpoint of Bumper's UK Model Y battery replacement range of £9,000-£15,000. This is a garage-marketing estimate, not a Tesla UK quote; no reputable-press UK Tesla quote found.

Battery warranty
8 years or 120,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerTesla UK Vehicle Warranty (copy checked at web.archive.org; original https://www.tesla.com/en_gb/support/vehicle-warranty) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

UK Model Y Long Range AWD; Tesla confirms that the warranty follows the vehicle.

Quote: Model 3 Premium LR RWD Model 3 Premium LR AWD Model 3 Performance AWD Model Y Premium LR RWD Model Y Premium LR AWD Model Y Performance AWD 8 years or 120,000 miles, whichever comes first, with minimum 70% retention of Battery capacity over the warranty period.

How we got this: The official current UK page uses a newer trim label and does not expressly identify MY2022.

RWD (UK, from Sep 2022)

Model years 2022–2024

Battery type
LFPestimateRecurrent (Tesla Model Y guide) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Recurrent (Tesla Model Y guide)

Quote: Standard Range Model Y variants generally use LFP battery chemistry (chargeable to 100% daily)

How we got this: Source states this chemistry in general terms for the model/trim; not specific to this market, year or factory.

Usable battery
57.5 kWhdata setOpen EV Data @32d7dc59e7 (MIT, https://github.com/KilowattApp/open-ev-data) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Open EV Data entry: Tesla Model Y (2022); market not stated in the dataset

Record: id=5933d23f-007d-78bc-c0f9-55bc8868e3ec usable_battery_size=57.5

Official range (WLTP, new)
283 misourcedElectrifying.com (22 Sep 2022, UK RWD launch; 19-inch wheels) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Electrifying.com (22 Sep 2022, UK RWD launch; 19-inch wheels)

Quote: The new Model Y Rear-Wheel Drive provides 283 miles of official range when wearing the standard 19” wheels and 267 on the optional 20” rims.

Battery wear
1.5% a yearestimatemeasures range loss, not battery capacityGreenCars (18 Jun 2024) reporting Recurrent study; 6% over 1,500 days = ~1.5%/yr · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y, Recurrent fleet (all variants pooled) — range loss, not measured battery capacity

Quote: and the Model Y lost about 6 percent of its range compared to new

How we got this: Recurrent (via GreenCars): ~6% range loss after 1,500 days, annualised linearly to ~1.5%/yr. The source notes loss is non-linear.

Expected range kept
93% after 5 years, 85% after 10 yearsestimatestraight-line from the wear rate above; about 262 mi and 241 mi of WLTP rangeGreenCars (18 Jun 2024) reporting Recurrent study; 6% over 1,500 days = ~1.5%/yr · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y, Recurrent fleet (all variants pooled) — range loss, not measured battery capacity

Quote: and the Model Y lost about 6 percent of its range compared to new

How we got this: Our calculation: 100% minus 1.5% a year (the wear rate above), never below 50%.

Winter range loss
21% lessestimate32°F (0°C) vs ideal-temperature range, compared with the range at an ideal temperatureRecurrent (Model Y guide; range at 32F vs ideal-temperature range, not vs EPA rating) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y, Recurrent fleet (all variants pooled)

Quote: Winter Range (32°F) 79%

How we got this: Recurrent reports 79% of range retained at 32°F; loss = 100 − 79 = 21%.

Battery replacement cost
£12,000estimategarage guide; labour included: unknown; 2026 priceBumper UK garage-network guide (01 Oct 2026) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

Tesla Model Y £9,000–£15,000 (Bumper UK garage guide)

How we got this: Midpoint of Bumper's UK Model Y battery replacement range of £9,000-£15,000. This is a garage-marketing estimate, not a Tesla UK quote; no reputable-press UK Tesla quote found.

Battery warranty
8 years or 100,000 milesestimatefrom new; covers capacity below 70%; passes to the next ownerTesla UK Vehicle Warranty (copy checked at web.archive.org; original https://www.tesla.com/en_gb/support/vehicle-warranty) · checked 2026-10-17
What the source covers

UK Model Y RWD; Tesla confirms transfer when ownership is transferred through Tesla.

Quote: Model 3 RWD Model Y RWD 8 years or 100,000 miles, whichever comes first, with minimum 70% retention of Battery capacity over the warranty period.

How we got this: The official UK page gives the precise drivetrain and terms, but it does not explicitly identify each MY2022-2024 vehicle.

All sources for this page

"Estimate" means we worked the figure out or borrowed it from a similar car; open "What the source covers" to see how. Expected health is a straight-line estimate from fleet data, not a test of any one car.